Brenda Aynsley has two passions in this life: to promote the value of professionalism as a necessary condition for all practitioners of ICT and to promote the Internet as a communications medium that can enable and empower citizens and communities.

In 1995 Brenda opened the first Internet café in South Australia and was instrumental in establishing the SA Internet Association, a group that championed the cause of Internet access for all users and providers. In those early years she presented at various Internet workshops and conferences, provided evidence to Senate Select Committee Hearings and served on the Australian Broadcasting Authority's 1998 Children and Content On-Line Task Force.

In 2000 Brenda established the long running ACS PC Recycling Special Interest Group to help bridge the Digital Divide by providing no cost/low cost computers to those in the community who otherwise would not have access to one. This SA based group of volunteers has distributed over 4000 computers to where they were needed most in Australia and continues its work today.

She served as SA Branch Chair in 1999-2001 and 2005-2006 and as National Vice President for 2002-03 and 2010-2011. In early 2010 she chaired the ACS Ageism Task Force which released its "IMPROVING AGE DIVERSITY IN THE ICT WORKFORCE" report in July 2010.

She has been active in the ACS Professional Year program as Academic Program Coordinator as well as delivering the Business, Legal and Ethical Issues subject of the Computer Professional Education Program.

As the 2010-11 Vice President Membership Boards, she has overseen the adoption of the Skills Framework for the Information Age and the implementation of the ACS Certification Program.

Brenda is an advocate of life long learning and has a Bachelor of Arts in politics and sociology, a Diploma in Social Sciences and a Graduate Diploma in Applied Science (Computing), and Certificate IV in Security Risk Management and Certificate IV Assessment and Workplace Training.

She was made a Fellow of the ACS in 2003 and was awarded an ACS Honorary Life Membership in 2006.